Technology Staffing articles and Beyond!

Over the course of four installments that will be posted here in the coming days, Damon Poole, Eliassen Group’s Chief Agilist, will explain the components that are needed in every agilist’s resume when they are competing for a job in this highly competitive and selective discipline. In today’s post, Damon explains why agilists need to pay particular attention to the construction and content of their resumes.

This is the story that inspired me to put together this series.

A short time ago, I was interviewing a candidate for an Agile Coach position at a national financial services company. The candidate’s resume was impressive, but the information reflecting the candidate’s skill and experience within Agile was difficult to find. (Keep in mind, the candidate’s interview with me was superb!)

Following my discussion with the candidate, I submitted her resume to the company’s hiring manager for review. I thought she was a lock for the position.

I could not have been more wrong.

Following my submittal of her resume, I learned the client had already rejected my candidate! Unbeknownst to me at the time, the client had already viewed my candidate’s resume and believed that she did not have the requisite experience for the open position.

After talking to my candidate, I contacted the hiring manager at the financial services company and asked her to take another look at my candidate. I explained to the hiring manager it would be worth her time to conduct a phone screen with my client. I emphasized the skills and experience my candidate had, and that she would be a perfect fit to work on the project that my client was about to begin.

Following the phone screen, my candidate was hired!

While I was happy to help my candidate land the job, (which she is still on, by the way) I started to think about what initially went wrong.

And it all circled back to my candidate’s resume.

Chances are, you probably are armed with an amazing resume if you are a member of the Agile community.

But if you are applying for a specific role, you need to highlight the skills you have that illustrate why you would be the perfect choice for the position.

One way to do this is to tailor your resume to one specific position, and remove those items that are notdirectly relevant.

Another way is to organize your experience into categories, so interviewers can easily find the pertinent information.

The next question you must answer is, “What defines relevant experience?” when it comes to competing for an Agile Coach position?

The key categories are:

Agile Knowledge

Your coaching experience

The scope and value of your experience

Your participation in the Agile community

In my next post, I will look at how you should present the aforementioned categories in your resume.

Want to discuss this post with Damon? Give him a call at 617-694-6233, or send him an email at DPoole@eliassen.com.

 

Comments on: "The Perfect Agile Resume (PART ONE) – By Damon Poole" (1)

  1. Jessica Piikkila said:

    This is an important message for all agile practitioners, especially coming from someone who advising hiring managers from all different areas of the organization. There are simply some items that need to be clear and familiar on a resume, not left to be translated by someone who has only read about agile practices.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

